Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Congratulations Crimean Republic!

You have now joined other nations such as Abkhazia, Nagorno-Karabakh South Ossetia, and Transnistria that are recognized as independent nations by maybe Russia (as Abkhazia and South Ossesita are) but by no other state or almost no other state. Maybe it can join the Commonwealth of Unrecognized States.

UPDATE: Okay that was fast. Russia claimed to annex Crimea by the time I hit "publish." So I guess this is more like Latvia between 1939-1991 than South Ossetia today. No Commonwealth of Unrecognized States for you after all, Crimea!