Wednesday, September 25, 2013

One of these things is not like the other

Rule number 5:
The Contest is not open to citizens of Cuba, Iran, the Quebec Province of Canada, Syria, North Korea, Sudan, Myanmar or to individuals restricted by United States or other applicable laws.
So, you're not eligible to participate if you are a citizen of a bunch of countries that are currently under U.S. sanctions... and also Quebec. Huh? Unlike the others, Quebec is neither a country (yet) nor under any U.S. sanctions. In fact, I'm not sure that the U.S. is able to legally impose sanctions against Quebec because of NAFTA. So how the hell did it get on that exclusion list?

(via Ciaran on FB)